I am a fairly typical suburban working mom. Have been fairly happily married for 22 years, go to church regularly, volunteer in school whenever I can, attend my kids’ games, feed the fish, the dogs, and cats on a regular basis, etc. So typical, in fact, that I’ve been able to bring in some valuable extra dollars on the side over the years, playing, well, a suburban mom in various commercials and advertising materials. Cool huh? An extremely boring life to some, I’m sure. But I’ve decided to hop on the blog-wagon anyway, for a couple of reasons.

First, I believe that journaling is a good release; gets things out and keeps them from festering inside, blowing themselves quickly out of proportion.

Secondly, I think it’s a good way for my kids, especially, to share what is important to Mom, and for Mom to communicate with the outside world what I think is important: Family. God. Civility. No, not just civility, but downright Nurturing of our fellow man. We are here for such a short time, we need to care for each other, to prepare for eternity. We are here, I believe, to prepare ourselves for that Eternity; to pick up the skills and outlook that will serve us when we are called up to serve our Lord in Eternity. Meantime, we need to remem ber that we are here for a reason, too. Many of us never figure out what that reason is; some find it very clearly. Me? I guess I’m here to raise up some wonderful kids into adults that are valuable in their communities.

That said, it seems so odd for me to be writing it. I’ve never been one to evangelize my Christianity. Yes, I am a big believer in Him with a capitol H. But, I am never one to expound upon it to people. It is simpler than that to me. I do what I do, hope to be a good example to people around me, and that’s that. You are free to believe what you want to believe and I’ll never criticize you, tho I might ask you about it with a great curiosity. Some of my best friends are Jewish, Catholic, and my own mother and siblings never talk about God or Heaven . In fact, I can’t even be sure that my own father went to Heaven when he passed away just 2 years ago. Now that’s an odd feeling, to be sure.

I’m in a faith-based place right now, because I actually attended a church-woman retreat this weekend., for the first time. Stayed in a hotel with over 100 women from my church, with a wonderful guest speaker and lots of play time. It was very good for me. Filled me up, so to speak. Gave me a chance to talk with other women who are “in the same place as me”. Really re-generated myself in a much-needed way. And reminded me that we’re NOT on this earth alone. Nor should we be consumed by elections, trash pickup problems, rent checks, and other minutia of day-to-day living. Everyone has a purpose, however insignificant we often feel. You will never see the “big picture”, but each and every one of us is an important puzzle piece.

So that’s where I am today. My oldest, a new college freshman, just i.m’ed me in a depressed state about her lack of money. Ouch. Her own fault, for spending all her savings this summer, rather than saving it, which is what WE THOUGHT she was doing. Its hard being strict. Wouldn’t I love to send her the money (which really we don’t have, either, but that’s a story for another day)…but that isn’t teaching her anything. She needs to feel a little bit of pain, to grow out of her spoiled world. She’s been very used to having just about everything she ever desired; nice clothes, nice car to drive, nice house to bring friends to, etc. etc.

