I must say that  first of all, I am NOT the political one in my family…that would be my husband!  He loves politics, reads all the websites, papers, etc. but I just don’t care that much.  I listen on the surface (who can escape it?), but just really don’t enjoy it all that much.

 Its depressing to me that the top candidates are always the ones who 1) their respective parties decided were the most “sellable” or are the most “charismatic”, etc… and 2) who can handle the overly rigorous schedule of campaigning/raising money, etc. and 3) the dollars raised and spent on campaigning makes me physically ill.

As a result, we have 2 major candidates this year that I just am not thrilled with.  The one everyone seems to be just IN LOVE with…has absolutely no experience!  No..I don’t mean no experience in political office or no experience in being a president.  No, this Jesus/MLK figure has NO experience…has he ever even held a job of any kind?  Wouldn’t that be somewhat like putting the receptionist in charge of the company;  she has a good education, she’s nice and all… why not?  Then there’s the other candidate…the oldest candidate in history to run for President….and with a medical history that points to a heightened chance of DEATH within the next couple years (and that’s with normal living…not taking into account the rigors and stress of a presidency)…and his vice president-to-be who (uh oh..here goes again)…has NO experience!  Yes…governor of the largest state in the union….with the fewest number of people, I believe.  I’m not voting for HER for president….she’s not worthy…so why did they stick her with him??

And the $500 million?  That’s how much that ONE CANDIDATE has already spent on his campaign!  (http://www.opensecrets.org/pres08/summary.php?cid=N00009638)  My God!  That’s more than the gross national product of Ireland and Iran COMBINED!  That’s just sick, people….you could practically cure cancer or save world hunger with that kind of money!  Where are people’s priorities?! (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(nominal)

That, friends, is why I hate politics.  And by the way, for the first time in  history, the Indianapolis Star is not endorsing any presidential candidate.  The Editorial Board just couldn’t come to any agreement, so they agreed to disagree and not endorse for this race.  Interesting.

