If you remember, I am a Chicagoan at heart…born and bred on the South Side, alumna of the Chicago Public School System.  So, occasionally I am a bit taken aback by Hoosier customs….like chicken and noodles served over mashed potatoes!  Or my MIL “redding up the kitchen”!?  Or everyone saying “where’s it at?” instead of “where is it?”

Well, I’ve been a Hoosier for quite some time now…full-time since 1986, in fact…but every once in awhile I’m still finding things that just don’t jive with my own paradigms.Chicken and Waffles

Waffles with syrup and chicken wings?!  Waffles with syrup and fried chicken?!  Yes, my northern friends, apparently this is quite the delicacy amongst southerners.  Really.  No kidding.  People eat it, its on the menu, etc. Ummmm…..okay, this just defies any more explanation, or even expletives.

Look, its even in Wikipedia, so it MUST be true 🙂

