I don’t know how those Project Runway designers/seamstresses can whip things up so quickly, in a matter of hours!  Me…I need much more time than that.  I’m working on an outfit for a black tie event on 2/13 (my birthday!), and am scared to death I’m going to ruin the extremely expensive fabric, since I haven’t been sewing apparel in many, many years.   Sure, I’ve sewn lots of window coverings, a random costume or two  (a hot dog!, an elephant, a Civil War uniform)…but I haven’t made clothes for myself since I was pregnant…and my youngest is 16!!

But here I am, armed with many yards of $100+ per yard silk (that I bought from a clearance bin at a drapery store)…

Yards of silk and 2 patterns

Of course, I was dumb enough to pick difficult patterns…with dozens of tucks!  Luckily I’m past that part and past the part where I had to match paisley, center it up on the back and sleeves, etc….now I should just be smooth-sewing.  Now I’m mostly worried about the FIT…need to lose a quick 5 pounds so the skirt will fit…if only it were that easy…

