My limited research shows that the gossip bench or telephone table was popular in the 1940s and 1950s, often in the hallway toward the kitchen and dining room.  It gave the lady of the house a place to sit and chat with friends, including a shelf for the phone book.

Well, hubz found me this rugged little table for a mere $13 and since I’d just bought a new can of Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint,  I painted it a creamy vanilla color.  I also happened to have fabric lying around (again, I see something I like, I often get it for some future project), and a good friend who is a whiz at cutting random chair seats. I particularly love the handwriting on this, for gossip.

Fully painted and reupholstered.

Fully painted and reupholstered.

 

I love it…and took it off to my local consignment store, in the hopes that someone else will also love it.

