$25 table and chairs was rough, with plaster on it, etc.

$25 table and chairs was rough, with plaster on it, etc.

One missing a slat but we don't care.

One missing a slat but we don’t care.

image

Scored plank lines into it with a screwdriver.

See how perfect in his little paneled kitchen.

See how perfect in his little paneled kitchen.

Had son and his friend beat on it with chains and yard tools to distress before staining.

Had son and his friend beat on it with chains and yard tools to distress before staining.

I love to paint.  I love to find things on FB marketplaces or Goodwill and repurpose them.  Here’s a table and chairs that I found and paid $25 for…planning to paint and resell.

Well, Kid #3 saw it and decided he “needed” it in his college apartment, so he helped me paint and then we distressed the top.  First, I sanded and sanded it.  Then I set his friend and him loose with chains and various garden tools to beat the heck out of it (technical term = distress…I’d be distressed if someone beat the heck out of me with chains, too!).

Then I decided it needed to look more like planks, so I scored it with a screwdriver and stained it a bit.

Final….son LOVES it! and it fits great with whole vintage-vibe, paneled-like-1962 apartment.  Worth way more than $25.

